

CHRONICLE- THE MODERN SCHOOL WEEKLY

MODERN SCHOOL, BARAKHAMBA ROAD

www.modernschool.net

Estb.in 1920

MODERN SCHOOL STARTS 2021 MUN WITH RESOUNDING TRIUMPH









Students at the ST STEPHENS MODEL UNITED NATIONS

WHAT'S NEW AT MODERN

ST STEPHENS MUN

Page 1 and 2

ROUND SQUARE NEWS

Page 2 and 3

CRICKET NEWS

Page 4

A delegation of four starling students represented Modern School Barakhamba Road at St. Stephens -28th MUN from 26th February 2021. The 13th iteration of St Stephens MUN promised a great forum to learn the and appreciate nuances oftransnational advocacy. The wide range of stimulations at the conference such the **UNGA-Disarmament** and International Security (DISEC), the Economic and Social Council, United Nations Development Programme and the All India Political Parties Meet



challenged the ability of delegates to negotiate, understand and appreciate the underlying dynamics of an inter-connected world.

Through an immense portrayal of diplomatic skills, depth of knowledge and understanding of international politics, all the students bagged awards. Competing against over thirty schools and colleges from across the country, MODERN SCHOOL WON THE BEST DELEGATION AWARD.

The delegation comprised of:

1. Chinmay Mehta

Class: S6A

Award: Best Delegate Cash Prize: Rs.2000

Committee: All India Political

Parties Meet

2. Ashmit Singh

Class: S5H

Award: High Commendation

Cash Prize: Rs 1250

Committee: The Economic and Social

Council

3. Maira Aggarwal

Class: S5A

Award: Special Mention Committee: United Nations Development Programme

4. Kashish Sindhwani

Class: S5A

Award: Honourable Mention

Committee: UNGA- Disarmament and International Security

(DISEC)

This event truly has been a memorable experience for all delegates, which certainly would not have been so successful without the constant support and guidance of Modern School Principal Dr Datta. This great success has truly been a reflection of the constant dedication and hard work of teacher incharge, Ms Sonia Kapoor and all students during this hard time.

Round Square Postcard Call

A virtual Round Square Postcard Call was organized by Vidya Devi Jindal School, Hisar at 11:00a.m. IST, on 24th February 2021, on Zoom Meeting. The theme of the event was "Be a Rainbow in Someone's Cloud", a quote by Maya Angelou, which means to cultivate kindness and practice empathy.

Apart from India, there were over 100 representatives from eighteen Round Square schools from all over the world, including Bangladesh, Armenia, Romania and South Africa who participated in this meeting. The Modern School, Barakhamba Road delegation comprised of Siddhant Ahuja (S6C), Yanav Lall (S6C), Kaashvi Dua (S6E), Parinistha Surya (S6E) and Zaina Sharma (S6G), The students were mentored and escorted by Ms Shalini Dahiya.



The event commenced with a poll. asking the participants about their favourite colour of the rainbow. The students shared the personal, spiritual and philosophical reasons behind their choice. Almost every colour from the rainbow was enthusiastically picked by the participants.



Post Cards made by students

This was followed by an interactive presentation by the host school, focusing on the Round Square IDEALS and DISCOVERIES of Service, Compassion, Courage etc. and the presentation drew attention to the extraordinary acts of kindness by individuals globally, amid the pandemic.

Thereafter, breakout rooms for baraza discussions were created, in which an icebreaking session took place and the delegates shared their heart-warming stories and experiences of philanthropy, humanitarianism, benevolence, positivity and benignity.



Ayush Badoni



Himmat Singh

MODERN SCHOOL AND THE CRICKET WORLD

Two students of the 'Batch of 2016' brought laurels to the alma mater. Himmat Singh represented as the Vice-Captain and Ayush Badoni represented as a team player of the Delhi Ranji Trophy Team 2021. The most coveted championship was held from 13th February 2021 to 3rd March 2021 by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

Four students of Modern School - Karan Sharma (Batch of 2017), Madhav Kaushik (Batch of 2016), Abhishek Goswami (Batch of 2015) and Samarth Singh (Batch of 2008) were selected to represent the U.P.team in Ranji Cricket Championship for the 'Vijay Hazare Trophy'. This was conducted by the Board of Control for Cricket in India from 15th February 2021 till 14th March 2021. Karan Sharma led the U.P.team as the Captain. The final match was played between the teams of Mumbai and U.P. wherein Madhav Kaushik performed brilliantly and created history, as he scored 158 runs and was still not out.

Madhav Kaushik made many new records such as

- Record of the nine highest ever score in a 'List A' tournament by an Indian
- * Record of facing the first and the last ball of the inning
- Record of scoring runs which is more than half of the total runs scored by the entire team in the final match of a 'List A' tournament
- Record of scoring 150 plus runs after playing first 20 balls as dots.

The girl-cricketers have also added a feather in the cap of the alma mater. Neha Chillar (student of the batch of 2014), Riya Sharma (student of the batch of 2016), Mallika Khatri (student of the batch of 2018), Pratika Rawal (student of the batch of 2019) and Shweta Sehrawat (S6) have been selected in the Delhi's Senior Ranji Trophy Women's Team in the 2020-2021. The coveted cricket championship is being conducted by the Board of Control for Cricket in India from 4th to 28th March 2021.

Compiled by: Flt Lt Sunita Dixit (Retd) Supervised by: Ms Namrata Sanghi