

CHRONICLE THE MODERN SCHOOL WEEKLY

MODERN SCHOOL, BARAKHAMBA ROAD www.modernschool.net Est. in 1920



PTA AWARDS 2022

The school held a special assembly for the annual PTA awards for Senior Students on September 2nd 2022 with Mr Himanshu Gupta an IAS officer, currently Director, Education, NCT of Delhi as the Chief Guest. These awards instituted by the Parent Teacher Association of Modern School, Barakhamba Road are given to the children who have shown excellence in sports and academics.

The ceremony commenced with the lighting of the auspicious lamp, which preceded the distribution of the awards to the children of S4 (currently in S5), S5(currently in S6), S6(currently in S7) and S7(pass-outs), recognizing their efforts. After this, the Chief Guest was called upon to give words of encouragement to the children.

While exhorting the students to be proud of their Alma Mater and its legacy, he shared information on three new curriculums which were introduced to Delhi schools, firstly-the entrepreneurship curriculum, focusing on changing the mindset of children from wanting to be an employee to being an employer and the need to cultivate leadership qualities in them. Then he shared information on the happiness curriculum, which seeks to generate a positive state of mind by implementation of meditation. Lastly, the Deshbhakti curriculum to inculcate patriotism and a desire to bring changes to the country. He urged the children to take pride in their country regardless of where they go in the future. Mr. Himanshu Gupta not only left the children motivated, being a perfect example for those with big dreams, but also ignited a spark of curiosity in the

minds of the students and a will to improve in their respective fields. Dr Vijay Datta, Principal, Modern School, Barakhamba Road, in his speech thanked the Chief Guest for his words of praise for the school and for sharing his experiences with the students. He was very appreciative of the innovative ideas that Mr Himanshu had implemented in the Delhi Schools' curriculum. He also advised the students on setting goals and achieving them.

The well conducted programme had almost two hundred and seventy students receiving awards. The parents who witnessed the event lauded the organizers for their efforts in coordinating a flawless programme.

PTA AWARDS 2022

S4	S4	S5	S5
POORNA	MANNAT	MANSHA	YASHVARDHAN
GAUTAM TEWARI (S4C)	BHUTANI (S4F)	AGARWAL (S5B)	MARDA (S5I)
RIA DEVIKA BHASIN (S4A)	BHAVYA KHANCHANDANI (S4D)	KHUSHI AGGARWAL (S5B)	KAMAKSHI LAMBA (S5E)
RAGHAV	RHYTHM	SIMRAN	ANANYA
SINGHAL (S4A)	MAHAJAN (S4C)	KALRA (S5H)	DHAWAN (S5I)

PTA SPORTS AWARD 2022-2023 (S1 – S4)

A+ INTERNATIONAL POSITION HOLDER AND PARTICIPATION. SGFI AND OPEN NATIONAL POSITION HOLDER

Name of Student	Class / sec	Position/ Participation
EQUESTARIAN Dev Harish Kapoor	S2B	Gold
Agastya Aggarwal	S4H	Silver, Gold
Amartya Aggarwal	S4E	Gold, Silver
Janya Verma	S3E	Bronze
Aarna Mittal	S3E	Gold
SHOOTING Suryaveer Singh Sodhi	S4B	Silver
TENNIS Ojas Mehlawat	S4H	Boys U-14 Team

PTA SPORTS AWARD 2022-2023 (S1 - S4)

Name of Student	Class / sec	Position/ Participation
EQUESTARIAN Sanan Sahgal	S2H	participation
GYMNASTICS Kairavi Yadvanshi	S4B	4 Gold
SWIMMING Tanush Jhanji	S3H	1 Silver, 2 Bronze
Samraj Rathi	SIC	2 Bronze
TENNIS Ahaan Khanna	S4B	Gold , U-14
Ayan Goyal	S4A	Gold , U-14





PTA SPORTS AWARD 2022-2023 (S5 - S7)

A+ INTERNATIONAL POSITION HOLDER AND PARTICIPATION, SGFI AND OPEN NATIONAL POSITION HOLDER

Name of Student	Class / sec	Position/ Participation
ARCHERY Aryaman Varma	S6B	Gold
BOXING Yashita Gurang	S6J	Gold
GOLF Kirat Khanna	S6I	Gold
TENNIS Riya Sachdeva	S5B	Gold
BADMINTON Kshemya Dhawan	S7I	Gold
Himani Sardar	S6J	Gold
Ryan Ranjan	S6A	Gold
Shaurya Tiwari	S6F	Gold
Aarav Kwatra	S5G	Gold

PTA AWARDS - S1, S2 & S3



The PTA award ceremony of Modern School, Barakhamba Road for the academic year 2021-2022 was held on 1st September 2022 for grades S1 to S3. Many students were awarded medals and certificates for their hard work and perseverance in the fields of academic excellence and sports achievements. It was truly a proud moment for the school. The function began with a beautiful lamp lighting ceremony after which the chief guest was introduced. The chief guest for the function was Mr. V. Srinivas, a high-ranking IAS officer, respected academician, and an enthusiastic sportsperson. The students were introduced to an extensive list of his achievements in his profession and in the sporting arena which were indeed inspirational for all the students present there. A perfect fit for the ideals of this event: he spoke about his long association with the school and the many ways in which we all have and will continue to excel. The podium was then taken over by the members of the PTA body and their announcement for each awardee was met by thunderous applause from an audience of students, teachers, parents, and grandparents. The award ceremony was truly a great encouragement for all the students which would help them harness their power of knowledge and enable them to strive for better next year. Following are the overall winners from S1 to S3:

S 1	S 2	S 3
Anaisha Jindal (S1F)	Lavanya Bhagwati (S2C)	Shiva Puri
Anisha Reja (S1B)	Vihaan Singh Oberoi (S2G)	Zara Javed (S3A)
Sumair Sidhanshu Chopra (S1C)	Arnav Sadh (S2G)	Aarya Singh (S3D)
Vanika Jain (S1C)	Rhythma Rewal (S2A)	Juwairiyyah Shah (S3D)
Ananya Rajan (S1H)	Shivain Gupta (S2C)	
Yoanna Sainani (S1F)		