

## CHRONICLE

The Modern School Weekly

MODERN SCHOOL, BARAKHAMBA ROAD

www.modernschool.net

Est. in 1920



## 102<sup>ND</sup> ANNUAL SPORTS DAY

"Sports creates a bond between contemporaries that lasts a lifetime. It also gives your life structure, discipline and a genuine, sincere, pure fulfillment that few other areas of endeavor provide." - Bob Cousy

Keeping up with the tradition of striving for excellence and laying emphasis on sports, fitness and health, Modern School, Barakhamba Road, celebrated its **102<sup>nd</sup> Annual Sports Day** on 24<sup>th</sup> December, 2022, with great fervor and éclat. The luminous and joyous winter morning served as an ideal time to celebrate this spirit of sports.

The event was graced by the presence of Mr Anurag Singh Thakur, Minister of Sports and Youth Affairs and Mr Sharad Kumar, Minister of Information and Broadcasting. Mr Sharad Kumar, Arjuna Awardee and bronze medalist at Tokyo Paralympics, was the Guest of Honour. The other distinguished guests that graced the annual sports meet included Ms Anuradha Pratap Singh, President, Board of Trustees; Col Vijay Chadda, Chairman Modern School, Barakhamba Road and Principal, Dr Vijay Datta.

The upper field offered its perfect outdoors to the earnest participants (spanning from S1 to S7), the horses, the comperes, the teachers and the athletes to host this special day. All guests and parents were welcomed to the

venue by an array of proudly displayed National and International trophies and medals won by the able and promising students.

While heading towards the upper field, the eminent guests witnessed an exciting basketball match between the **Modern School Team** and the **Sportability Team**, an inclusive Sports Academy at Modern School, Barakhamba Road, formed with the intent of providing world class sports facilities to children with special needs.

The first event of the day was the March Past. Sixteen contingents gracefully represented their respective houses with synchronization and teamwork to the tune of Uttarakhand's folk song – 'Bedupako', played melodiously by the School's Scottish Band. The March also marked the first appearance of the smartly dressed NCC contingent and the newly constituted Kalam House. Principal Dr Vijay Datta welcomed the honourable chief guest to glorify the event. The multi-coloured balloons adorned the blue winter skies in a myriad of hues. They soared high, inspiring and reminding the students that 'Sky is the limit.'



President, Board of Trustees, Ms Anuradha Pratap Singh welcoming the Honourable Chief Guest



Enthusiastic participants spreading the spirit of sportsmanship with the lit flame

Afterwards, the torch was handed over to Yash Gupta, National Position Holder in Basketball, who along with other sports achievers like Yash Dabas, Ananya Bisht, Aryaman Verma, Shaurya Bawa, Riya Sachdeva and Suryansh Yadav of Modern School, Barakhamba Road, lit the flame of the meet. An energizing Equestrian display by the students established the tone further for the great morning ahead.



**Enlivening Equestrian show** 

The students of the **Middle Wing** marked their presence with impressive drills. The students of **S1** performed an effortless **Yoga** displaying various *asanas* while the comperes explained the benefit of each *asana* to the audience. The students of **S2** presented a foot tapping **Zumba**, while class **S3** showcased a series of powerful moves of the martial art, **Taekwondo**.

Honourable Chief Guest, Mr Anurag Singh Thakur, addressed the gathering and emphasized on the usefulness of adding at least thirty minutes of physical activity to our daily routine with his inspiring phrase – "Fitness ka dose, Adha ghanta Roz".



The event also featured athletes of Modern's sister schools participating in inter school 100 meter, 200 meters and 4×100 meters relay races for senior boys. The element of competition and thrill filled the air with cheer and tons of encouragement for the young athletes.



Zealous display of Yoga Asanas by S1 students of Middle Wing



**Principal Dr Datta announcing the winners** 

Towards the end of the annual sports meet, the results of the athletic championships and March Past were announced by Principal Dr Datta. The award for the **Best Athlete** in the **Senior Boys** category was awarded to **Aditya Kumar** of **Kalam House** with 13 points. **Tarini Thakur** of **Ranjit House** with 11 points secured the position of the **Best Athlete** in the **Senior Girls** category. The **Inter House Athletic Team Championship** was bagged by **Nehru House** with 59 points, with **Ranjit House** at 40 points and **Kalam House** with 36 points securing **Second** and **Third Position** respectively.

The 102<sup>nd</sup> Annual Sports Meet held at Modern School, Barakhamba Road, helped the students to bring out the innate sports skill while inculcating the values of leadership, team work, unity and collaboration.

## GLIMPSES FROM THE ANNUAL SPORTS MEET



## TOP POSITION HOLDERS OF CLASSES S1-S7 IN VARIOUS CATEGORIES

CATEGORY	GROUP	HOUSE	NAME	CLASS	FINAL
800 m	Senior Boys	Kalam	Aditya Kumar	S6B	02:14.2
	Senior Girls	Nehru	Pooja Saluja	S7E	03:50.1
LONG JUMP	Senior Boys	Nehru	Anant Sareen	S7I	5.40m
	Senior Girls	Nehru	Prisha Jindal	S6B	3.60m
SHOTPUT	Senior Boys	Subhash	Sanay Khanna	S5I	9.10m
	Senior Girls	Nehru	Juwairia Khan	S7B	5.70m
200m	Senior Boys	Ranjit	Tamish Walia	S7J	26.29s
	Senior Girls	Ranjit	Tarini Thakur	S7J	32.84s
100m	Senior Boys	Kalam	Aditya Kumar	S6B	12.03s
	Senior Girls	Azad	Syna Mehra	S5C	14.72s
4x100m RELAY	Senior Boys	Nehru	Dev Shukla(S7G), Anant Sareen(S7J), Priyan Arora(S6D), Aarchishman Singh(S6B)		
	Senior Girls	Nehru	Pooja Saluja(S7G), Krisha Kapoor(S6J), Prisha Jindal(S6B), Yana Jain(S6I)		

600m	Sub Junior Boys	Patel	Pratyush Yadav	S3G	02:06:48	
	<b>Sub Junior Girls</b>	Akbar	Nandika Gupta	S2B	02:23:13	
LONG JUMP	<b>Sub Junior Boys</b>	Gandhi	Vihaan Singh	S3G	4.20m	
	<b>Sub Junior Girls</b>	Lajpat	Adwika Kukreti	S2E	3.20m	
SHOTPUT	<b>Sub Junior Boys</b>	Azad	Pranay Sharma	S3D	6.00m	
	<b>Sub Junior Girls</b>	Ranjit	Rahini Bansal	S3B	7.00m	
200m	<b>Sub Junior Boys</b>	Patel	Pratush Yadav	S3G	31.22s	
	<b>Sub Junior Girls</b>	Akbar	Nandika Gupta	S2B	33.20s	
100m	<b>Sub Junior Boys</b>	Patel	Pratush Yadav	S3G	13.15s	
	<b>Sub Junior Girls</b>	Patel	Anaya Nath	S2C	13.12s	
4x100m	Sub Junior Boys	Subhash	Arjun Girdhar(S3A), Souvik Jain(S3G), Hamza			
RELAY			Farooqui(S3B), Mohd. Owais Querashi(S3F)			
	Sub Junior Girls	Patel	Anaya Nath(S2C), Abhirati Singhal(S3G), Shanaya Verma(S3H), Manasvi Singhal(S3F)			

LONG JUMP	S1 Boys	Kalam	Veer Gupta	S1H	3.70m
	S1 Girls	Ashoka	Sara Kar	S1B	3.40m
SHOTPUT	S1 Boys	Subhash	<b>Tanmay Dewan</b>	S1G	7.40m
	S1 Girls	Nehru	Chiara Jain	S1A	6.20m
200m	S1 Boys	Kalam	Veer Gupta	S1H	34.61s
	S1 Girls	Ashoka	Sara Kar	S1B	34.20s
100m	S1 Boys	Nehru	Viraj Chaturvedi	S1A	15.21s
	S1 Girls	Kalam	Anysa Chawla	S1G	16.21s

Compiled by: Ms Rakhi Chawla

Supervised by: Ms Namrata Sanghi